Some half-formed thoughts on RuPaul’s Drag Race ep4: Spoof!

So, that episode, eh? I genuinely don’t understand a single thing about Spoof!. The winner, the bottom two, the editing, the evictee, nothing. NOTHING. I’m assuming it was some not-very meta reference to the episode title.

I don’t get why Kennedy Davenport was the winner. She was pretty…OK? Forgettable. I can’t remember what she wore. I can’t remember what she did in the challenge. She didn’t seem to be a driving force behind her team (probs for the best after last week’s shitshow).

JDF or Katya stole the show for me. Probably because I’m in love with anything to do with Bianca, and I’m rapidly becoming a Katya ‘stan’ (is that a thing? I don’t really know what it means so god knows what I’ve just confessed to).

Katya_flat_1Also: Max. Courtney Act’s performance was mental in the Sissy That Walk vid, and lovely Max made her so deranged it made sense. She put in more effort than Violet, who merely stomped and let her mouth hang open. I do that every time I wait at the self-service tills in Sainsbury’s. That doesn’t make me America’s Next Drag Second Place Superstar.

Max_flatrgbBottom two? Kandy Ho should’ve been there for sure. Who else forgot that Kandy Ho even existed till her boring runway? Sorry dear, but you’re a filler queen. (Feel free to remind me of this statement when she is crowned the winner to end all winners or something).

I love Pearl – I’ve gone from her’s being my least favourite MTQ video to watching gifs of her walking into trees on a loop. And laughing with glee each time. However, I didn’t get her lipsynch. The intensity in her face was there, but her arms were like Peter Kay doing an impression of a kid at a wedding.

And Trixie? She’s so interesting, I don’t know if I loved-loved-LOVED her, but I was fascinated by her and desperate to see more of her schtick. (I was supposed to see her live last week but had to stay home as Liam was returning from a week away in Chicago and I figured I should spend some time with him, not that I’m bitter or anything). However, that dress did not fit her properly. At all. Her face was beat to bollocks, but from the neck down she looked kind of… rushed?

Trixie Mattel, 20% off for this week only!

Trixie Mattel, 20% off for this week only!

There’s been a whole drama about spoilers this week, which I kind of get but then when you are too scared to mention the girl who left on Wednesday morning things are going a little bit far. But I’m not going to let those weird Drag Race fangirls (not me, obviously) scare me any more. Hold on to your hats because TRIXIE LEFT, GUYS. (#justiceforTrixie)

But listen, chaps. Don’t worry. I’ve come up with a plan to help you deal with your emotions. I know what its like. Only last year I watched Bianca’s crowning whilst sobbing with hysterical glee into my runny scrambled egg, surrounded by cat hair, wearing a ratty old dressing gown.

For the remainder of the series, if one of the queens in my library (at the moment that’s Katya, Ginger, Max, and Trixie with more to come) wins a challenge you can get her for 20% off full price for that week. You can shove her on your wall, get out the party poppers and fun toot horns and dance around her with glee.

ginger_flatrgbAnd if your fave is mercilessly chucked out (I’m thinking more of a Trixie-event than Jasmine) you can get 20% off her for that week. This will mean that you can pin her to your telly and pretend she’s still in the running. Because, as we learned from BenDeLaCreme last year, being made to take an early sashay is a right bitch.

Have a look at all of my queens from Seasons 4-7 here.

Leave a comment